Cheryl Horlen

Welcome to the Feik School of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice website. Our department is dedicated to providing students and residents an exceptional education in pharmacy practice. In the classroom, we work closely with the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and continue to build upon the foundation of basic and applied pharmaceutical sciences. Outside of the classroom, our faculty members provide experiential opportunities and patient care at sites throughout the San Antonio area. We have faculty specializing in ambulatory care, internal medicine, pediatrics, oncology, transplant, critical care, cardiology, psychiatry, geriatrics, infectious disease, drug information and the social/administrative sciences. Our faculty members are involved in research and scholarship activities both at the Feik School of Pharmacy and in collaboration with other organizations and health-systems.

In addition, as leaders in pharmacy we contribute to the profession by actively participating in a variety of local, state and national professional organizations. Together with the entire Feik School of Pharmacy faculty and staff, we foster the development of students and residents into healthcare leaders that provide outstanding pharmaceutical care. Discover the mission, vision and goals of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Thank you for visiting and learning what our program has to offer. Please contact us if you have any questions or comments.

Cheryl Horlen, PharmD, BCPS
Assistant Dean and Chair of Pharmacy Practice

Sushma Ramsinghani


Welcome to the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences! I thank you for your interest and time to learn about our department. The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences’ faculty and staff are committed to providing the highest quality of education and professional experience for our students.

Biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences are the foundation of pharmacy curriculum. The diverse academic expertise of the faculty allows for the delivery of the curriculum in a comprehensive and scientifically-sound manner. The faculty uses a variety of teaching and active learning methods that engage students in and outside the classroom. We strive to develop innovative teaching methods and continuously improve ourselves to provide the best possible learning experience for the student. Many of the department faculty members have received honors over the years for their instructional methods.

The faculty members actively pursue research and scholarship through grant-writing, publication and other scholarly activities. Pharmacy and non-pharmacy students who have an interest in research are highly encouraged to participate in faculty research projects. The research labs are equipped with high quality instruments and equipment that facilitate research.

The department staff is a great resource for students and faculty. Together, the secretary, the lab manager and the research associates provide all the necessary support to keep the department working efficiently for teaching and research activities.

The faculty and staff of our department engage in service activities that benefit our school, university, community and the profession. We embody the mission and vision of the department, school and University. We model leadership so that our students will be leaders of tomorrow.

I hope this has provided you with some useful information about the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Thank you for visiting with us. I welcome your questions and comments.

Best wishes,

Sushma Ramsinghani 
Assistant Dean and Chair 
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Experiential education seeks to provide real life settings where the pharmacy student is able to apply the classroom knowledge and gain additional skills.

Primary Mission

The mission of the Office of Experiential Programs is to prepare competent and compassionate professional pharmacists. This is accomplished by partnering with quality experiential education sites and exceptional education preceptors.

Feel free to direct your questions about the Experiential Program or your roles as a UIW preceptor to:

Jeffrey Copeland, BS ThM, PharmD Assistant Dean, Experiential Programs

Tony Dasher, PharmD IPPE Coordinator/Assistant Professor

Joanne Fazio-Gosser, RPh APPE Coordinator/Assistant Professor

Thank you for your contributions as a preceptor and commitment to the future of pharmacy!

Information for Prospective Preceptors

Current Preceptors, please visit RxPreceptor for current information

Preceptor Conference and Recognition